From Stranger to Friend

quotes-about-friends-Strangers-are-just-friends-waiting-to-happen.-Rod-McKuen

 

 

“Sometimes, a stranger can understand us better than a friend.” –Unknown-

 

I never thought and even expected of getting in touch with a stranger on the world wide web aka cyber-space. Three days ago, a stranger that (later) turned into a friend greeted me, asking to follow back her social media account as she already followed mine.

I was wondering and sort of being a bit suspicious. Who are you? Asking me to follow. Do I know you in person? Have we met before in (the) real world?

Such questions I addressed to this total stranger. And what she said in response to these prejudice-questions made me smile.

She followed me because she found my stuff on my social media account were interesting and inspiring (oh really?). I didn’t know if she was saying the truth or not.

She then told me how she found my account. I was not really surprised afterwards.

Her name is -let me just give her initial name- Nanas.(for privacy reason). She’s been living in Indonesia for two years now. Working as a Mandarin lecturer in a University in East Java. Yup, she is a Chinese. Real Chinese from the Republic of China. Not Indonesian-Chinese-looking girl that have already been born and raised in Indonesia. So yeah she is 100 % foreigner! 😀

So what was her intention to start chatting me out through one of my social media accounts? I was asking her out again, just to convince myself that I was not dealing with a scammed-profile over the Internet Jungle as I was used to deal with quite often.

Well, she told that it was great if we could become friends. Yes friends. Okay. No problem. I said to myself, why not? Wasn’t it good to practice your English since you both would use English to communicate? Aha! That’s right.

Besides, having new friends from another country is always a good idea, right? Definitely it is!

Conversations happened afterwards. No need to mention, she is really easy-going, smart, and yes funny hahaha. Lots of topics were discussed. Starting from personal-things till those kind of thoughts on life and the future and some sort of life-goals. I enjoyed talking to her and I am sure she did too.

I think some of conversations should be shared here. Just wanted to share with you guys (anyone who is reading this right now), nothing in my mind that has to be hidden regarding this sort of issue. Some random conversations on topics that I personally love to talk about. Let me just copy-paste it down below. So kindly read and enjoy, if you let yourself (stay) curious. Hahaha.

Me : “What’s your favorite moments in your life? How they have been shaped your characters this far? These are random questions. Hahaha. So, if you have to re-program your memory and you’re only given three memories of your life to choose, what that would be? If you can’t achieve all of your life goals, what will you do? Tell me, what makes you so happy? Do you have any trauma when you’re a child?”

N : “Hahaha.. wow lots of questions. Give me some time to answer it one by one yaaaa hahaha. My favorite moment I guess is with my family when I was a child. They brought me to learn dancing and attended the competition, they encouraged me so well. And helped me to reshaped my personality. I become extrovert and out-going. Coz I was totally shy and introvert when I was a very little girl. I didn’t wanna make friends with others. I like staying with my mom and grandma only…and I was weak and easily got sick. But they changed me and raised me up.

And other good memory is playing basketball with my friends, boys and girls in primary and middle school. We were crazy playing it and addicted to it. We attended competition for our school. We shared happy or sad tears together. I like that feeling so much. As time goes by, I hardly find that feeling again now. And third good memory is went to Russia with my University Art Group. We had a tour performance in four cities of Russia in winter. I saw the heavy snow, and that was my dream to see the heavy snow. And I had a chance to stand in front of idol’s tomb, he is Pavel Korchagin. Idk if I wrote his name rightly haha.. he was a hero in Russia. I never thought I could do that in my life, cos all I know about him was in TV series and books. That was really a time proves no expectations, no disappointments. Cos it really gave me a surprise.

Ok. Tell me about your good memories and moments now! Your turn. I’ll make lunch first.”

Me : “Ok. I’ll have lunch too Hahaha. Woww very well explained. You have been to Russia? Wooww cool! I have a lot good memories in my life. My childhood is at the top. I was raised in a small village in the North of Sulawesi aka Celebes Island. My childhood friends helped me grow and learn things. I was a little boy with huge curiosity with new things. I love playing in nature. Rivers, jungle, sea, were three places that I loved to spent my time with my friends. We played hide and seek and many other traditional games that had taught me about hope, integrity, spirit, trust, optimism, and the art of surviving. Besides, I have my family and relatives that also taught me about life and faith towards God and the life after death. I miss my childhood so much. If I can turn back the time, I want to go back to my childhood life.

As a child I was also stubborn hahaha. That stubborness had led to some accidents. Like falling from a tree or stumbled on the street. Hahahaha. But that made me stronger as a kid. Even though I had to cry loud out loud once I fall..hahaha.

My other good memory is when I had finally accomplished one of my dreams to go abroad. Back in 2012 when I won a short-term scholarship that allowed me along with other 19 students from Indonesia to go to Kansas, US. Being selected from more than 3000 applicants from various Universities in Indonesia who applied for this scholarship made me so grateful and happy at the same time. I never imagined that I would be selected. The selection process was tough. And I gave my very best and asked God to make me pass through. Thankfully God answered my prayer. I got it! I think you haven’t answer all the questions.”

N : “Wow your answer is also very specific. I can tell, you can be selected in the program coz you are so handsome and kind-hearted. You deserve it. Were you the only one from your campus that went to US?

Hahaha.. I left my phone in the room to charge the battery… now I’ll continue to answer your other questions.”

Me : “Yeah. I represented my campus at that time.”

N : “If I can choose a time to go back, I’ll choose my primary school! That was my perfect childhood.hahaha. You are very cool!!! Yeah! Hahaha.

If I can’t achieve all the goals in my life….hmmm actually, I haven’t thought that question before. Cos I’m in the process to get there. But I know life is not perfect. Actually, I have already experienced the failure in my life and I know that feeling, it was really suffering and torturing when I couldn’t realize my dream. Instead, all the tough time taught me how to confront it with optimistic and hope. I didn’t enter my dream of middle school and university. Those were the feelings of failure I got through and couldn’t make it up coz time won’t fly back. I learn to accept it and enjoy another path I have. Only this, can get through the hard times and make another nice adventure in life. I still appreciate very step in my life, good or not, both teach me the important lesson in my process to grow up. So I’m stronger right now. No matter I can achieve all the goals in my life or not, as long as I tried my best, I’ll have no regrets. And I will be grateful for what I have and make what I have more beautiful and meaningful.

What makes me so happy…hahaha. I have to say, as long as you are human being, you can’t be so happy all the time, if you’re happy all the time, that must be not true. Coz life has different tests to make you have different emotions. And that is real thing. But what make me so happy I think, it’s life itself. Coz when I open my eyes to enjoy a new day, it’a a happy thing. I have my feeling, I have my thought. No matter what happened, I’ll be happy eventually, coz I’m still alive, I can suffer all the feelings. Only human being can. That is the gift God sends to me, life itself.

Trauma in childhood… I think I had. Though my childhood was very beautiful, but I still could see my parents arguing and fighting sometimes. I was so scared when it happens. But they got through all the hard times. They didn’t divorce finally. And we are fine right now..

Ok, your turn to share and let me know more about you ”

Me : “very well said! You sound so wise when you talk about your point of view towards life. I like it.”

N : “Hahaha thanks you like it. So what’s your point of view to life when you can’t achieve all your goals? And what makes you happy?

You know, every time I open my phone to check our messages, It’s like I’m talking to a philosopher hahahaha. It’s like there is a secret world only we know.”

Me : “Hahaha… well, I am happy when I can help people who need something that I can provide and give. I think that’s the most important thing in life; to help others. For me that’s the utmost purpose of human beings; to help one another. There is nothing more meaningful than to share love and peace among human beings. No matter what the background, race, tribe, and religion is.

I am happy to see people happy that are showed through their smile. And I am happy as hell when I realize that I am one of the reasons behind their smile.

Achieving goals in life has been a great issue as well as a daring journey to me. I have been failed as well. One of the failures that taught me more about the value of knowledge and time was the moment when I failed to enroll at my dream senior high school. I have joined the entry-test of that school which wasn’t easy for me. And when I realized that my name wasn’t there (on the list of accepted-students), I felt so sad which was then led to big frustration. I couldn’t accept the fact at first. I thought God wasn’t fair. All my efforts were nothing worthed at all. I became angry to God.

It took several weeks to make me accept the reality and start to set my new plan. As time went by, I realized that I didn’t fail actually. God wanted me to be more and highly well-prepared.

And then, a year later, I tried again for the 2nd time to join the selection process in order to enroll at the senior high school of my dream. Same school as before. I madly wanted to study there! Yeah, I did not give up!! Hahaha.

And I was right, God helped me through eventually. The 2nd time of my trial was so much easier as I have had myself fully prepared for the test. I was accepted finally.

This was one of my biggest milestones. I became more positive and optimistic towards life since then. And most of all, I become so much closer to God.”

 

****

Well, I didn’t expect to experience such thing like this. Never. But frankly saying, I always open to new thing(s) as long as it is beneficial for my intellectual and emotional growth. Something unpredictable is always a “yes” for me. I love anything out of the blue, or yeah unpredictable (do you know other words about this?).

And wow, life has been unpredictably remarkable so far. There are always new things come up out of the blue. Yet, one thing is always there, the Creator.

God is always there to colour up my life with unpredictable things. Oh yes, of course your life too. Things are sweet sometimes, but they can be sour or even bitter in another time. Needless to say, that’s how life works, right?

Having had such experiences truly make me realize that we all just human being with a lot of common senses. We may appear in different appearance, backgrounds, culture, nationality, etc, but it does not make us exclusive as a human being. We simply just human being who love to share things. It does make us unique and beautiful at the same time.

And thank God, today we have this space-age technology called the Internet to get in touch with our fellow human from another part of our lovely planet. This is just amazing. Many years ago we would not be able to get to know people from other countries as simple as today. My extended-thank-you goes to all the inventors of the Internet for making this all possible.

So, if you (still) are reading up to this line (I’m pretty sure, you are) I am simply thankful. Hehe.. And if we haven’t met in person yet, just like what I have experienced with Nanas, I would be glad if we can be friend as well. Let’s just say this type of friendship as online-friends-stuff or perhaps Internet-Friendship? What do you think?

 

Until next time, have a lovely day ya’ll!

 

Arasyid Harman

 

So what do you think? An angel smiles every time you leave a comment :)

